REAL ESTATE BROKER EDUCATION AND EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS
To become a broker in the State of Florida, you must meet the following criteria:
1. Experience: Held an active real estate sales associate’s license for at least 24 months during the preceding 5 years in the office of one or more real estate brokers, or been an active broker in another state for at least 24 months during the preceding 5 years. Remember, out of state real estate experience counts towards the experience requirement for the Florida broker’s license.
2. Satisfactorily complete a broker pre-license course prescribed by the Florida Real Estate Commission.
Note: All Florida Real Estate Sales Associate’s must complete the post-license education requirement prior to becoming eligible for licensure as a Broker.
Two Types of Classes:
3 DAY HYBRID CLASS: EXPLORER or SAFARI required. The Broker Pre-License 3-Day Hybrid Class is our most popular program. This class is essentially an online class (which satisfies the 72-hour state requirement) supplemented with 3 classroom sessions (no credit awarded for classroom time), creating a combination of online convenience with the effectiveness of a live presentation. A printed textbook is provided at no additional charge. The course covers the practice of real estate, including property rights, title concepts, taxes, liens, contracts, mortgages, planning and zoning, appraising, investments, agency and license law, all designed to fully prepare our students for the state exam.
ONLINE CLASS: EXPLORER or SAFARI required. The Online Broker Pre-License Course is well-suited for students that already have a busy schedule. You will receive our Textbook by mail plus password access to all materials and tests, which must be completed within one year at the latest. No classroom time is required. This program is administered through our affiliate school Florida Real Estate Academy, and satisfies the 72-hour state pre-license class requirement. You will be presented with information concerning the practice of real estate, including property rights, title concepts, taxes, liens, contracts, mortgages, planning and zoning, appraising, investments, agency and license law, all designed to fully prepare our students for the state exam. The course final exam is taken online.
Once you register, you will be provided with a user name and password by email for online access and a textbook will be mailed to you.
A computerized state examination is required of all applicants. Once a state application is approved, and the pre-license course is completed, the student can then schedule a testing appointment to take the state exam.
Application for licensure must be made to the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, Division of Real Estate (allow approximately 2-4 weeks for application approval).
WE SUGGEST SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION AT THE TIME YOU REGISTER FOR A CLASS
The applicant will be notified when approved for examination. Once an application is approved and the pre-license course is completed, the applicant is able to sit for the state examination. There are 15 testing locations throughout the state of Florida, with testing at northwest Florida locations in Pensacola and Tallahassee Monday through Saturday.
All Florida applicants are required to submit fingerprints in an electronic format (non-Florida applicants submit a fingerprint card). To download the application or apply online and obtain additional information on the electronic fingerprinting requirement please use the following links: